The Pop-Up Story Centre…


I am very excited to be taking part in a wonderful project.  Ms Moz asked me if I would be interested in producing some work/ideas for group work for The Pop-Up Story Centre in Rotherham.  The idea of the project is to create….” A ‘pop-up’ magical story centre to create new opportunities families, parents, grandparents, children, volunteers, and young people.  This story centre will provide a base for Rotherham people to come along and share stories, publish work, learn about illustrating and story telling.”

 I was highly honoured when the lady behind the project took at look at some of things I have been making recently and deemed them of a high enough standard to join the scheme.

The first theme of the Pop-Up Story Centre is a Dickensian one, focusing on stories with a Victorian feel and incorporating elements of the Christmas Carol on the lead up to Christmas.  I didn’t really know a great deal about Charles Dickens, so I did a little bit of research to see what I could be inspired into making.  I came across his last words….”On the ground” which were a response to his daughter’s request that he lie down after suffering a stroke.  I thought about what the shop might need…I decided that all shops need a door mat, and one that says “On the ground” would be pretty neat indeed…so here it is…On the ground

 I tried to bleach the words onto the mat at first, but it wasn’t taking, so I resorted to acrylics and I’m really pleased with the result.

I didn’t entirely understand what the project was about until I watched the following Ted Talk with Ms Moz.  He explains it all rather better than I could!  The Rotherham project has these ideas at it’s heart, but done on a local scale and with more art/textiles etc included… http://www.ted.com/talks/dave_eggers_makes_his_ted_prize_wish_once_upon_a_school.html

You can find more information on the project at

http://www.inspirerotherham.org/news-item-1/

I’m really looking forward to supporting this…how exciting! x

 

 

2 responses to “The Pop-Up Story Centre…

  1. This is absolutely wonderful. I now need to find a welcome mat with the words ‘on the ground’ and the Pop Up Story Shop is set. Thank you for your amazing contributions so far.

Leave a Reply

