Sketches of my sweetheart the midget drunk…


This is my first quick sketch of Thom…it’s the first sketch I’ve done in a number of years and I’m quite pleased with it.

I’m trying to build up the courage to do a nice big oil painting, maybe in a year or two when I can squirrel myself away for a couple of days on my own and really get down to business.  I do love oils, they are so forgiving.  I can change my mind two or three days after painting something and it just lets you work back into it.  I miss the smell of them too.  I found myself unscrewing the cap of a raw umber the other day and having a really big sniff….ahhhh.  Not the nicest of smells by any stretch of the imagination, but it ticks a box in my brain that no other smell does.  The possibility of an idea fulfilled.

4 responses to “Sketches of my sweetheart the midget drunk…

  1. fantastic! get those oils out, lady!

    • Thank you honey…think I’ll keep sketching for a while and trying out/learning new techniques, then treat myself to some kind of cottage in the middle of nowhere for a couple of days *daydreams of a pretty cottage, baking bread, painting and drinking wine*

  2. Well done. good one. babies are difficult because proportions have yet to standardise but you caught him well. 🙂

  3. Thanks lovely. I’m looking for some inspiration for a nice big oil painting…I don’t fancy doing a portrait or a landscape…hmmm, thinking cap on… x

Leave a Reply

